Certified FAMACHA© Instructors

 

The FAMACHA© eye anemia system was developed by South African scientists and veterinarians. In order to teach FAMACHA© to farmers, students, and others (and purchase more than one FAMACHA© card), you must be a certified FAMACHA© instructor. The American Consortium for Small Ruminant Parasite Control has developed a process for becoming a certified FAMACHA© instructor. It includes an application and quiz.  The application will be reviewed by a panel of consortium members to determine qualifications for teaching FAMACHA© and integrated parasite management. A passing grade on the quiz is 80 percent. The quiz reflects the information that should be taught in workshops. You may take the quiz more than once. Once approved you will receive a certificate. Certification will last for two years, after which time, you will need to pass an updated quiz.
 

The following people have met the requirements for certification.  They are listed by state.  You may contact them to teach a FAMACHA© workshop.

Alabama


Uma Karki, PhD, PAS
Tuskegee University
ukarki@tuskegee.edu
(334) 727-8336

Arizona


Samantha Cubbage, DVM
scubbage.herdhealth@gmail.com
(480) 772-3300

Arkansas

Dr. Joan M. Burke
Dale Bumpers Small Farms Research Center
joan.burke@ars.usda.gov
(479) 675-3834 x 325

Delaware

Dr. Kwame Matthews
Delaware State University
kmatthews@desu.edu
(302) 857-6540

Florida


Louise Hall

Florida Meat Sheep Alliance
halllouise@me.com
(813) 777-4563


Martha Mallicote, DVM, DACVIM
University of Florida Large Animal Hospital
mallicotem@ufl.edu
(352) 294-4325



Georgia

Kim Post
University of Georgia
kimberly.post@uga.edu

(229) 482-3895

Dr. Niki Whitley
Fort Valley State University
whitleyn@fvsu.edu
(478) 825-6577

 

 

Indiana

Sara Dzimianski
Purdue University
sdzimian@purdue.edu
(812) 547-7084

 

 

Iowa


Paul J. Plummer, DVM

Iowa State University
Pplummer@iastate.edu
(515) 294-8522


Maryland

Susan Schoenian
University of Maryland Extension
sschoen@umd.edu
(301) 432-2767 x343

 

Mississippi

Kip Brown
Mississippi State University
kipp.brown@outlook.com

(662) 417-4393
 

Michael Pesato

Mississippi State University
mep323@msstate.edu

(440) 669-3517
 

Leyla Rios
Mississippi State University
leyla.rios@msstate.edu

(662) 435-4514
 

Missouri

Linda Coffey

NCAT ATTRA
lindac@ncat.org

(479) 442-9824
(479) 445-2063 (cell)

 

New York


Daniel J. Flaherty
USDA - Natural Resource Conservation Service
daniel.flaherty@usda.gov
(607) 865-7090
(607) 644-7849 (cell)

 

Betsy Hodge
Northern New York Cooperative Extension
bmf9@cornell.edu
(315) 379-9192

Dr. tatiana Stanton
Cornell University
tls7@cornell.edu
(607) 254-6024

 

Richard Toebe
Cornell Cooperative Extension

Rrt43@cornell.edu

(607) 865-7090


North Carolina

Fred Brown, DVM
Traphill, North Carolina
banimaldoc@wilkes.net
(336) 957-5054

Taylor Chavis
North Carolina State University
tbhunt@ncsu.edu

(910) 671-3276

Randy Collins

North Carolina State University
randy_collins@ncsu.edu

(828) 479-7979

Dr. Emily Cope
North Carolina State University
emily_cope@ncsu.edu

(336) 593-8179

Kinsey Everhart
North Carolina State University
kmeverha@ncsu.edu

(919) 475-3619
 

Anthony Growe
North Carolina State University

amgrowe@ncsu.edu

(910) 206-2772
 

Liz Joseph
North Carolina State University
liz_joseph@ncsu.edu

(910) 321-6862
 

Lauren Langley
North Carolina State University
lauren_langley@ncsu.edu

(336) 570-6740
 

Adam Lawing
North Carolina State University
aclawing@ncsu.edu

(828) 289-9910
 

Rachel Owens
North Carolina State University
reowens2@ncsu.edu

(704) 283-3739
 

Becky Spearman
North Carolina State University
becky_spearman@ncsu.edu

(910) 877-3623

Ohio

Braden Campbell
Ohio State University
campbell.1279@osu.edu
(740) 434-3252

Pennsylvania

 

Melanie Barkley
Penn State University - Bedford County
meh7@psu.edu
(814) 623-4800

William Fritz, Ph.D.
Delaware Valley University
william.fritz@delval.edu
(215) 489-2325

 

Camren Maierle
Penn State University
clm6630@psu.edu
(724) 662-3141

 

Stephanie Ringler
USDA APHIS
stephanie.ringler@usda.gov
(717) 599-9957


South Carolina

Patty B. Scharko, DVM
Field & Extension Veterinarian
Clemson University
pschark@clemson.edu
(803) 726-7803

Texas

Ashley Steuer
Texas Tech University
ashley_steuer@ttu.edu

Virginia

James Hilleary
Virginia Tech - Loudoun County
james58@vt.edu
(703) 777-0373

 

Dahlia O'Brien

Virginia State University
dobrien@vsu.edu
(894) 524-6963

Roger Ramirez-Barrios
VA-MD Regional College of Veterinary Medicine
raramirez@vt.edu

(754) 610-5408

West Virginia

Scott Bowdridge
West Virginia University
scott.bowdridge@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-2003

Last updated 11.22.21 by Susan Schoenian