Certified FAMACHA© Instructors

 

The FAMACHA© eye anemia system was developed by South African scientists and veterinarians. In order to teach FAMACHA© to farmers, students, and others (and purchase more than one FAMACHA© card), you must be a certified FAMACHA© instructor. The American Consortium for Small Ruminant Parasite Control has developed a process for becoming a certified FAMACHA© instructor. It includes an application and quiz.  The application will be reviewed by a panel of consortium members to determine qualifications for teaching FAMACHA© and integrated parasite management. A passing grade on the quiz is 80 percent. The quiz reflects the information that should be taught in workshops. You may take the quiz more than once. Once approved you will receive a certificate. Certification will last for two years, after which time, you will need to pass an updated quiz.
 

The following people have met the requirements for certification.  They are listed by state.  You may contact them to teach a FAMACHA© workshop.

Alabama


Uma Karki, PhD, PAS
Tuskegee University
ukarki@tuskegee.edu
(334) 727-8336

Alberta


Melissa Moggy, DVM
melissa@moggylre.ca
(587) 830-1232

Arizona


Samantha Cubbage, DVM
scubbage.herdhealth@gmail.com
(480) 772-3300

Arkansas

Joan M. Burke, PhD
Dale Bumpers Small Farms Research Center
joan.burke@ars.usda.gov
(479) 675-3834 x 325

Eva M. Wray, PhD
University of Arkansas
emcclint@uark.edu

(870) 416-8064

California


Roselle Busch, DVM
University of California Davis
rcbusch@ucdavis.edu
(530) 574-8208

Tara Urbano, DVM
University of California Davis
tmurbano@ucdavis.edu

(559) 393-1537

Colorado


Tammy Schneider
Bel-Rea Institute of Animal Technology
schneider@belrea.edu
(970) -301-2525

Connecticut


Danielle Fowler
danielle.m.fowler@gmail.com
(203) 695-8109

Delaware

Kwame Matthews, PhD

Delaware State University
kmatthews@desu.edu
(302) 857-6540

Florida


Louise Hall

Florida Meat Sheep Alliance
halllouise@me.com
(813) 777-4563


Martha Mallicote, DVM, DACVIM
University of Florida Large Animal Hospital
mallicotem@ufl.edu
(352) 294-4325

Ruth Taber
Williston, Florida
ruthtaber@embarqmail.com
(352) 502-2564


Georgia

Jay Daniel
Berry College
jadaniel@berry.edu

(706) 936-5739

Kim Post
UGA Extension - Southwest District
kimberly.post@uga.edu

(229) 482-3895

Shanna Reynolds
UGA Extension - Northeast District
shanna.reynolds@uga.edu

(706) 743-8341

Niki Whitley, PhD
Fort Valley State University
whitleyn@fvsu.edu
(478) 825-6577

 

 

Indiana

Sara Dzimianski
Purdue University
sdzimian@purdue.edu
(812) 547-7084

 

Illinois

Deborah Niemann-Boehle
deborahwrites@gmail.com
(815) 341-1223

 

Iowa


Paul J. Plummer, DVM

Iowa State University
Pplummer@iastate.edu
(515) 294-8522

Kentucky


Shawn Harper
KY Community & Technical College System
shawn.harper@kctcs.edu
(270) 705-7800

 

Maine


James E. Miller DVM PhD

Louisiana State University (retired)

jembrla@gmail.com

(225) 253-6194


Maryland

Susan Schoenian (retired)
University of Maryland Extension
sschoen@umd.edu
(240) 520-9228

Michigan


Richard Ehrhardt, PhD
Michigan State University
ehrhard5@msu.edu
(517) 899-0040

Melissa Holahan, DVM, DACVECC
Caprine & Ewe Veterinary Consulting
drmelissa@caprineandewe.com
(517) 202-7989

Samantha Stokes
Caprine & Ewe Veterinary Consulting
samstokes@caprineandewe.com
(734) 344-2289

 

Mississippi

Kip Brown
Mississippi State University
kipp.brown@outlook.com

(662) 417-4393
 

Michael Pesato, DVM

Mississippi State University
mep323@msstate.edu

(440) 669-3517
 

Leyla Rios, PhD
Mississippi State University
leyla.rios@msstate.edu

(662) 435-4514
 

Missouri

Linda Coffey

NCAT ATTRA
lindac@ncat.org

(479) 442-9824, (479) 445-2063 (cell)
 

Nebraska

Randy Saner
University of Nebraska
randy.saner@unl.edu
(308) 532-2683

 

New York


Amy Barkley - Erie County
Cornell Cooperative Extension
amb544@cornell.edu
(716) 640-0844

 

Lynn Bliven
Cornell Extension - Allegany County
lao3@cornell.edu
(716) 244-0290

Daniel J. Flaherty
USDA - Natural Resource Conservation Service
daniel.flaherty@usda.gov
(607) 865-7090, (607) 644-7849 (cell)

Nancy Glazier
Cornell Extension - Northwest New York
nig3@cornell.edu
(585) 315-7746

 

Betsy Hodge
Northern New York Cooperative Extension
bmf9@cornell.edu
(315) 379-9192

Janice Liotta
Cornell University
JLL55@cornell.edu
(607) 423-3207

 

Erika McCarthy
Rika.mccarthy@gmail.com
(914) 714-4290

Ashley McFarland
Cornell University - Central New York
am2876@cornell.edu

(315) 604-2156

Last updated 11.14.22 by Susan Schoenian

Rachel Moody
Cornell Extension - Capital Area
ram72@cornell.edu
(518) 649-0267

 

tatiana Stanton, PhD
Cornell University
tls7@cornell.edu
(607) 254-6024

Richard Toebe
Cornell Extension - Delaware County

Rrt43@cornell.edu

(607) 865-7090

North Carolina

Fred Brown, DVM
Traphill, North Carolina
banimaldoc@wilkes.net
(336) 957-5054

Taylor Chavis
North Carolina State University
tbhunt@ncsu.edu

(910) 671-3276

Randy Collins

North Carolina State University
randy_collins@ncsu.edu

(828) 479-7979

Emily Cope, PhD
North Carolina State University
emily_cope@ncsu.edu

(336) 593-8179

Kinsey Everhart
North Carolina State University
kmeverha@ncsu.edu

(919) 475-3619
 

Anthony Growe
North Carolina State University

amgrowe@ncsu.edu

(910) 206-2772
 

Liz Joseph
North Carolina State University
liz_joseph@ncsu.edu

(910) 321-6862
 

Lauren Langley
North Carolina State University
lauren_langley@ncsu.edu

(336) 570-6740
 

Adam Lawing
North Carolina State University
aclawing@ncsu.edu

(828) 289-9910
 

Rachel Owens
North Carolina State University
reowens2@ncsu.edu

(704) 283-3739
 

Becky Spearman
North Carolina State University
becky_spearman@ncsu.edu

(910) 877-3623

Dan Wells
North Carolina State University
dgwells@ncsu.edu
(919) 989-5380

Ohio


Braden Campbell
Ohio State University
campbell.1279@osu.edu
(740) 434-3252

Crystal Criswell
St. Croix Hair Sheep Breeders
crystal.schulte.criswell@gmail.com
(304) 654-3977

Oklahoma


James E. Miller DVM PhD

Louisiana State University (retired)

jembrla@gmail.com

(225) 253-6194

Steve Hart
Langston University (retired)
steve.hart@langston.edu
(405) 612-5642


Barry Whitworth, DVM
Oklahoma State University
barry.whitworth@okstate.edu
(580) 320-0856

Ontario 


Angela Graham, DVM
Dunnville Veterinary Clinic
drangela@dunnvillevetclinic.com
(226) 929-6777

Oregon


Hayley White
Oregon State University
hayley.white@oregonstate.edu
(971) 612-0027

Charles Estill
Oregon State University
charles.estill@oregonstate.edu
(541) 231-2274

Willard Hucks
Amity, Oregon
willard.hucks@gmail.com

(541) 974-8590

Ened McNett
Oregon State University
mcnette@oregonstate.edu
(505) 570-9133

Mary Smallwood
Oklahoma State University
mary.smallman@oregonstate.edu

​(541) 231-4299

Pennsylvania

 

Melanie Barkley
Penn State University - Bedford County
meh7@psu.edu
(814) 623-4800

William Fritz, Ph.D.
Delaware Valley University
william.fritz@delval.edu
(215) 489-2325

 

Camren Maierle
Penn State University
clm6630@psu.edu
(724) 662-3141

 

Stephanie Ringler
USDA APHIS
stephanie.ringler@usda.gov
(717) 599-9957


South Carolina

Patty B. Scharko, DVM
Field & Extension Veterinarian
Clemson University
pschark@clemson.edu
(803) 726-7803

 

South Dakota


Aaron Martin, DVM
Martin Veterinary & Consulting Services
aaronmartin2008@gmail.com
(605) 680-9934

Texas


Jeremy Everett
jeremy.everett21@gmail.com
(903) 975-0786

 

Tammy Gallagher

Shady Paddock Farm - Paige, Texas
shadypaddock@gmail.com
(361) 443-4646

Reid Redden, PhD
Texas A&M AgriLife
reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu
(325) 657-7324

Clifford Spraberry
cspraberry@yahoo.com
(469) 576-7620

 

Ashley Steuer
Texas Tech University
ashley_steuer@ttu.edu
(806) 834-6741

Virginia

B.J. "Betty" Campbell, DVM
Hanover Veterinary Services, Inc.
bjbobcar@gmail.com
(804) 366-2868

James Hilleary
Virginia Tech - Loudoun County
james58@vt.edu
(703) 777-0373

 

Scott Jerrell
Virginia Tech - Scott County
sjerrell@vt.edu
(276) 452-2772

Dahlia O'Brien, PhD

Virginia State University
dobrien@vsu.edu
(894) 524-6963

Roger Ramirez-Barrios, DVM, MS, PhD
VA-MD Regional College of Veterinary Medicine
raramirez@vt.edu

(754) 610-5408

Hannah Varnell, DVM
Wellfarm Veterinary Consultants
hannah@wellfarm.org
(919) 302-6422

West Virginia


Scott Bowdridge
West Virginia University
scott.bowdridge@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-2003

Brad Smith
West Virginia University
Brad.Smith@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 668-9908