Certified FAMACHA© Instructors

 

The FAMACHA© system was developed by South African scientists. Per an agreement with the South African Veterinary Association, only veterinarians or other trained animal health care professionals may directly purchase FAMACHA© cards from the University of Georgia, the sole U.S. distributor of FAMACHA© cards. All others must receive proper instruction before receiving a FAMACHA© card. The following individuals are qualified to provide FAMACHA© training. If there isn't an instructor in your state or region, contact your county extension office and/or state small ruminant specialist for further assistance. Your local veterinarian may be able to provide training. If you are a qualified instructor and would like to be added to this list, contact Bob Storey at the University of Georgia.  Instructors are listed by state.
 

Alabama


Nar Gurung PhD, PAS, Dipl. ACAN
Tuskegee University
nurung@tuskegee.edu
(334) 727-8457

 

Uma Karki, PhD, PAS
Tuskegee University
karkiu@mytu.tuskegee.edu 
(334) 727-8336
 

Arkansas

Dr. Chelsey Ahrens
University of Arkansas
cahrens@uaex.edu
(501) 671-2067


Dr. Joan M. Burke
Dale Bumpers Small Farms Research Center
joan.burke@ars.usda.gov
(479) 675-3834 x 325

David Fernandez, Ph.D.
University of Arkansas Pine Bluff
fernandezd@uapb.edu
(870) 575-7214


Christine Hernandez
Heifer Project International
Christine.Hernandez@heifer.org
(501) 889-8601

James Morgan, Ph.D.
Katahdin Hair Sheep International
jlmm@earthlink.net
(479) 444-6075

 

Ann Wells, DVM
Springpond Holistic Animal Health

sprngpond@aol.com
(479) 409-8772

 

Connecticut


John Pollock, DVM

Tufts Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine

john_m.pollock@tufts.edu

(860) 974-2780


Delaware

Kwame Matthews
Delaware State University
kmatthews@desu.edu
(302) 857-6540

Dan Severson
University of Delaware
New Castle County Extension
severson@udel.edu
(302) 831-8860

Florida

Kenneth R. Brown, DVM
Bell, Florida
ruralvet9@gmail.com
(352) 317-8472

Martha Mallicote, DVM, DACVIM
University of Florida Large Animal Hospital
mallicotem@ufl.edu
(352) 294-4325

 

Sally Mangra
Meat Sheep Alliance of Florida
sjmangra@gmail.com
(386) 785-8757

Sarah Reuss, VMD, DACVIM
University of Florida Large Animal Hospital
sreuss@ufl.edu
(352) 294-4336

Georgia

Joshua Dawson
Fort Valley State University
dawsonj01@fvsu.edu

(229) 333-5185; (229) 333-5188
 

Kimberly Kester

University of Georgia Extension-Southwest District
klk25582@uga.edu

(229) 482-2895; (715) 572-5391


Bob Storey
University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine
bstorey@uga.edu
(706) 542-0742

 

Dr. Niki Whitley
Fort Valley State University
whitleyn@fvsu.edu
(478) 825-6577

Lisa H. Williamson, DVM
University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine
lisa1@uga.edu
(706) 542-3223

Hawaii

Dr. Christie Balcomb, BVSc, DACVIM

YourVet Farm Services
Christie@yourvetmaui.com

(808) 757-9363


Indiana

Sara Dzimianski
Purdue University
sdzimian@purdue.edu
(812) 547-7084
 

Jennifer H. Koziol, DVM, MS
Purdue University
koziol1@purdue.edu
(765) 494-8548
 

Ilana Porzecanski, MD
Indianapolis
iporze@yahoo.net

 

Iowa


Elise Gallet de St Aurin
CGL Consultants

cgl.consultants.inc@gmail.com

(319) 929-5201


Paul J. Plummer, DVM
Iowa State University
Pplummer@iastate.edu
(515) 294-8522

Kentucky

Dr. Ken Andries
Kentucky State University
kenneth.andries@kysu.edu
(502) 597-5094

Terry Hutchins
Kentucky State University
terry.hutchens@kysu.edu
(859) 608-7919

Dr. Beth C. Johnson
Kentucky Department of Agriculture
bethc.johnson@ky.gov
(502) 782-5917

Louisiana

Dr. Chance Armstrong
Louisiana State University
carmstrong@lsu.edu
(334) 740-1472

James E. Miller, DVM
Louisiana State University
jmille1@lsu.edu
(225) 578-9652

Christine B. Navarre, DVM
Louisiana State University
CNavarre@agcenter.lsu.edu
(225) 578-4194

 

Dr. Matt Welborn
Louisiana State University

mwelborn@lsu.edu

(2250 252-0911

Maine

Dr. Richard Brzozowski
University of Maine
richard.brzozowski@maine.edu
(207) 781-6099
(800) 287-1471 (in Maine only)

Colt W. Knight, Ph.D.
University of Maine
colt.knight@maine.edu
(207) 581-2953
(in-state) 800-287-0274

 

Diane Schivera
Maine Organic Farmers
dianes@mofga.org
(207) 568-4142

Dr. Tom Settlemire
Bowdoin College
tsettle@bowdoin.edu
(207) 841-6747

 

Dr. James Weber
University of Maine
jaweber@maine.edu
(207) 581-2774

Maryland

Dr. E. Nelson Escobar
University of Maryland Eastern Shore
enescobar@umes.edu
(410) 651-7930

Susan Schoenian
University of Maryland Extension
sschoen@umd.edu
(301) 432-2767 x343

 

Massachusetts

Rosario Delgado-Lecaroz, DVM
Country Veterinary Services
Upton, Massachusetts

(508) 887-1398

rdldvm@gmail.com


Michigan

Dr. Richard Ehrhardt
Small Ruminant Extension Specialist
Michigan State University
ehrhard5@msu.edu
(517) 353-2906

Minnesota

Brenda Postels
University of Minnesota Extension
post0060@umn.edu
(763) 682-7381

 

Mississippi

Brandon Alberson
Mississippi State University - Lee County
brandon.d.alberson@msstate.edu
(662) 841-9000

 

Shelby W. Bearden
Mississippi State University - Copiah County
s.bearden@msstate.edu
(601) 892-1809

Kipp Brown
Mississippi State University
kipp.brown@msstate.edu
(662) 237-6926

Sherrill Fleming, DVM
Mississippi State University
sfleming@cvm.msstate.edu

(662) 325-2198

Terry "Skip" Glidewell
Mississippi State University - Prentiss County
skip.glidewell@msstate.edu
(662) 728-5631

 

B.J. McClenton
Mississippi State University - Clay County
b.mcclenton@msstate.edu
(662) 494-5371

Missouri

Charlotte Clifford-Rathert, DVM
Lincoln University
Clifford-RathertC@lincolnu.edu
(573) 681-5169

Dr. Elizabeth L. Walker
Missouri State University
EWalker@MissouriState.edu
(417) 836-5087
 

Montana
 

Dave Scott
NCAT-ATTRA
daves@ncat.org
(406) 533-6642; (800) 346-9140 (ATTRA)

 

Dr. Whit Stewart
Montana State University
whitney.stewart1@montana.edu
(406) 994-3758
 

New York

James Bryan Detzel
Cornell Cooperative Extension - Ulster County
jbd222@cornell.edu
(845) 340-3990 x327

Anne Dewar, DVM
Avon, New York
daimonium@gmail.com
(571) 439-4607

Stephanie Dodds, DVM
Eastview Veterinary Clinic
Penn Yan, New York
sdodds415@gmail.com

 

Daniel Flaherty
Natural Resource Conservation Service
Walton, New York
daniel.flaherty@ny.usda.gov
(607) 865-7090

Betsy Hodge
Northern New York Cooperative Extension
bmf9@cornell.edu
(315) 379-9192

 

Michelle Lipari
Cornell Cooperative Extension - Sullivan County
mml249@cornell.edu
(845) 292-6180 x129

Dr. tatiana Stanton
Cornell University
tls7@cornell.edu
(607) 254-6024

 

Richard Toebe
Cornell Cooperative Extension

Rrt43@cornell.edu

(607) 865-7090

 

North Carolina

Fred Brown, DVM
Traphill, North Carolina
banimaldoc@wilkes.net
(336) 957-5054

Dr. Jean-Marie Luginbuhl
North Carolina State University
jean-marie_luginbuhl@ncsu.edu
(919) 515-8743

Ohio

Kathy Beilek
Misty Oaks Farm
Wooster, Ohio
kathy.bielek@gmail.com
(330) 202-3528

Rory Lewandowski
OSU Extension Wayne County
lewandowski.11@osu.edu
(330) 264-8722

 

Timothy McDermott, DVM
OSU Extension Hocking County
mcdermott.15@osu.edu
(740) 385-3222

Oklahoma

Dr. Steve Hart
Langston University
shart@langston.edu
(405) 466-6138

 

Oregon

Charles T. Estill, DVM
Oregon State University
Charles.Estill@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-7667

 

Pennsylvania

 

Melanie Barkley
Penn State University - Bedford County
meh7@psu.edu
(814) 623-4800

William Fritz, Ph.D.
Delaware Valley University
william.fritz@delval.edu
(215) 489-2325

Rhode Island

Dr. Katherine Petersson
University of Rhode Island
kpetersson@uri.edu
(401) 874-2951

South Carolina

Patty B. Scharko, DVM
Field & Extension Veterinarian
Clemson University
pschark@clemson.edu
(803) 726-7803

Tennessee

Dr. An Peischel
Small Ruminant Specialist
Tennessee State University
apeischel@tnstate.edu
(615) 963-5539

Texas

Kraig Stemme, DVM
Alba, Texas
kstemme@gmail.com
(903) 316-6959

 

Kelly Thompson, DVM
Prairie View A&M University
kethompson@pvamu.edu

Vermont

Carol Delaney
Small Ruminant Consultant
cdhornofplenty@gmail.com
(802) 229-2096

Virginia

B.J. Campbell, DVM
Hanover Veterinary Services, Inc.
bjbobcar@aol.com
(804) 883-5842

Jim Hilleary
Virginia Tech - Loudoun County
james58@vt.edu
(703) 777-0373

Aaron S. Lucas, DVM, Ph.D.
Luray Clinic of Veterinary Medicine
vtauggie@gmail.com
(540) 743-7298

Dr. Dahlia O'Brien
Virginia State University
dobrien@vsu.edu
(804) 524-6963

Anne Zajac, DVM, Ph.D.
VA-MD Regional College of Veterinary Medicine
azajac@vt.edu
(540) 231-7017

 

Washington

Susan Kerr DVM, Ph.D., PAS
Washington State University

(360) 848-6151

kerrs@wsu.edu

Wisconsin

Sarah Mills-Lloyd, DVM
University of Wisconsin-Oconto County
(920) 834-6845
sarah.millslloyd@ces.uwex.edu


Erica Q. Solis
Emancipation Acres
(815) 721-6186
Emancipationacres@gmail.com


West Virginia

Scott A. Bowdridge, Ph.D.
West Virginia University
scott.bowdridge@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-2003

Brad Smith
West Virginia University Extension
brad.smith@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 257-4946

Tracy Walker, DVM
Allegheny Equine
info@alleghenyequine.com
(304) 636-8363

© 2019.  American Consortium for Small Ruminant Parasite Control (ACSRPC).  Created with Wix.com. ..